RSS

Do I look like a Granny to you?

March 15, 2012

Aging, Essays for Giggles

Tomorrow, I turn 47 years old.  I would be totally freaked out about that except for the fact that I have put that little piece of information in a file cabinet called “Not Happening.”

And as the mother of a young child, I don’t actually feel that old.  I have a 7-year-old daughter.  My days are filled with play dates and car pool.  I spend afternoons at gymnastics practice and soccer games.  I spend the summers at swimming lessons and water parks.

But it has come to my attention recently, despite heroic attempts to bury my head in the sand, that there are a lot of people my age doing these same things, only it is with their grandchildren.

I really have a hard time wrapping my head around that.  I know intellectually that I could have had a child at say, a respectable 23.  That child could have grown up to follow in my footsteps and poof!  Today, I would be Nanna to a 1-year-old.

And where I come from, it is not unusual to have a baby at 17, who then has a baby at 16 and poof!  Grandma at 33!  THAT would make me feel old.  Older than I do now.

I mean Jennifer Anniston and JLO are 43.  Gwyneth Paltrow and Heidi Klum are 40.  Do they look like grandmothers, to you?

Continuing along my celebrity timeline, it is possible that young moms like Reese Witherspoon and Jessica Alba could be young Grannies someday.  Hard to believe.  But possible.  Reese is from Tennessee.  It’s not like she has never heard of such a thing before.

I am happy for those Grandmothers both young and old.  I hope to live long enough to see my own grandchild someday.  But for now, I am glad to have spent my youth being young, and my middle age raising the young.

Tomorrow, turning 47 might be bad… but not as bad getting a birthday card from my granddaughter.

, , , , , , , , ,

About reneadijab

Renea Dijab

View all posts by reneadijab

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “Do I look like a Granny to you?”

  1. Lyn Edlin Says:

    When someone asks me if I have grandchildren,I always say I have a granddog and I love her like a child.

    Reply

  2. Karlyn Says:

    Happy Birthday, Renea! And, no, you do NOT look like a granny!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

