RSS

Asshat of the Week – May 2, 2013

May 3, 2013

Asshat of the Week

With regard to gun ownership and violent incidents in the United States, the news just keeps getting better and better.  Sure, violent criminals kill people with guns, and definitely crazy people kill people with guns, but then there are always the “accidents” to consider; the 9 – year-old accidentally shot by his father as they climbed into their truck leaving the gun store, the young boy killed by recoil from an automatic weapon at a gun show, the 5-year-old girl in Alaska shot to death by her 8-year-old brother, and believe it or not, the list goes on.  And on and on… the list is so long in fact, that over 500 children a year who are killed by accidental gun fire are on that list.

The latest in a long line of shocking and tragic gun deaths is the 2-year-old Kentucky girl accidentally killed by her 5-year-old brother with a 22 caliber rifle this week.  When I saw the headline, I immediately thought, whoever these guns belong to that these kids keep getting their hands on needs to go to jail for a very long time.

Imagine my surprise upon reading the story, to find out that the gun belonged to the boy.  Yes, you read that right.  The boy received for his birthday, a single shot Crickett 22 rifle marketed to children.  Yep, you read that right too.  The gun comes in a variety of colored stocks including pink, has a child safety lock and holds only a single shot.  In advertisements, it is called “My First Rifle.”

Well, now that puts a very different complexion on things doesn’t it?  The child didn’t get hold of the gun of an irresponsible adult; he got hold of his own gun, given to him by a moron.

Now, I am well aware that there is a hunting culture that starts kids out early going deer hunting with Daddy.  As a matter of fact, I am from Kentucky.  I have hunters in my family.  I have nephews who have shot guns and are taken on hunting expeditions.  The 8-year-old has bagged his own deer.  So, I totally get it.

The difference is that my sister and brother-in-law keep all weapons locked up and the boys are always supervised when shooting.  The adults are obsessively careful with loading and cleaning, and a gun would never be left lying around or leaning against the wall.  It wouldn’t happen.

So, number one, let’s just agree that both of these poor children – the living and the dead – have idiots for parents.  The child was not only given a gun, but it was left accessible and with a bullet in it.  Now that is just stupid.  You can’t disagree with that.

Usually with gun violence, the pro-gun folks, say, if only everyone had been armed, the innocent would have been able to protect themselves.  Seriously.  The NRA has suggested that children be armed.  So in this case, I guess if the little girl had also been given a rifle for her birthday, she might have had the chance to shoot her brother first.

Thank God, I have a daughter.  I love my nephews, but I find boys unmanageable.  They are wild, loud and constantly trying to find a way to kill themselves.  They play aggressive games, jump off tall objects and hurl things at each other; and every time I have ever complained about the behavior of a boy, I have been reminded that their young brains are still developing.  Recent research indicates that our prisons are full of young men who acted impulsively due to brains that were not firing on all pistons at their tender age.  So whose bright idea is it to give them guns at age five?  I mean it doesn’t take a nuclear physicist to see that this has “disaster” written all over it.

Reading about this case, I am struck by a couple of things.  First, the county coroner called it “one of those crazy accidents.”  Uh, no.  Falling down the front porch steps is a crazy accident.  Giving a 5-year-old boy a loaded weapon and then leaving him unsupervised is moronic, negligent, and criminal.

Second, Grandma didn’t appear that upset since, as she put it, “It was God’s Will.  It was her time to go, I guess.”  She must have been a special little girl that God loved her so much, he couldn’t wait any longer to give her a little playhouse in Heaven.  He couldn’t give her time to learn to read or ride a bike.  He didn’t want her to go to prom, or graduate from high school, maybe even have a little career and a family.  Nope, God loved her so much, he had to have her as one of his little angels right now.   And the way God, that passive aggressive asshole, chose to get his little angel, was to let her brother kill her for Him, so that the little boy could suffer from those consequences for the rest of his life too.  Boy, God sure does work in some mysterious ways.

Her name was Caroline Starks.  She was a cute little girl with blond hair and brilliant blue eyes.  They say she loved to laugh and that she loved her big brother.

This week’s Asshat of the Week award goes to multiple recipients:  a company that makes firearms for children, parents who give their unsupervised children access to loaded guns, a culture that worships gun ownership, an inept political system, and a God that killed a 2-year-old girl this week.  If only she’d had a conceal carry permit.

RIP Caroline Starks.  Amen.  The End.

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About reneadijab

Renea Dijab

View all posts by reneadijab

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

5 Comments on “Asshat of the Week – May 2, 2013”

  1. thelastsongiheard Says:

    I… yeah… what can you say? I live in Louisville and yes, sadly, this doesn’t surprise me in the slightest…

    Reply

  2. Bob Says:

    The only words I don’t agree with are, “I totally get it.” I have never ‘gotten it’ when it comes to guns.
    They, to me, just seem to be yet another penis metaphor for the eternal man/child—a deadly metaphor though that affects others much more than it does the penis holding the gun.

    Reply

    • reneadijab Says:

      What I “get” is the desire/interest to go hunting. Or at least I acknowledge it as a fair choice. I think it is kind of strange that people do it for fun, but as someone who eats animal protein, I can not judge someone who has the nerve and skills to get their own food.

      I am no better than them just because I let illegal immigrants work for slave wages in the backwoods in order to deliver to me guilt-free boneless, skinless chicken breasts.

      I am many things, but hypocrite is not one of them.

      I do not “get”, however, the need to be armed for the zombie apocalypse in the form of an undead Obama descending on small towns across America and eating the brains of the good citizens of that town.

      Reply

  3. haydendlinder Says:

    I love guns. I don’t own one at present but that will change soon. I will be purchasing a single shot .22, much like the one that murdered Caroline, and 1000 rounds of ammunition. Then me and my 7 year old son, Chuy, will go to the range and he will fire every round, one at a time, UNTIL HE IS SICK OF IT. Then, the gun goes in the closet in a locked gun bag and no more ammo is purchased until his sister, Vivian turns 7. And hopefully, this will kill any interest my children have in “playing” with real guns.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

