RSS

Happy Mother’s Day!

My ideal Mother’s Day would be one in which I was mostly alone, without my child or even my husband.

I know.  I know.  I’m gonna burn in hell.

Actually, I’m out there totally kickin’ ass 364 days a year to give my daughter the childhood I wish I’d had; and a gift to honor that, would in fact, be a day truly off.

One of the things that I never get enough of is silence.  I would run away from home if I had more than one child; though she talks as much as three or four children so perhaps I am no better off.  Every time I wish for silence, I cross myself against the Gods of Be-Careful-What-You-Wish-For, as I remember that Twilight Zone episode about the guy who liked to read more than anything in life.

All he wanted in the world was time to read his books.  One day on his lunch break, he went into the bank vault to read undisturbed and while he was in there, a nuclear explosion destroyed all life on earth except for him, protected by the foot thick steel walls.  This was the 1960’s, Cold War nuclear annihilation was a constant concern and a major plot element in many episodes.  So the poor man comes out into a deserted world, happening upon a huge pile of books left from the decimated public library.  It’s nonsensical how the building was blown to Oz, yet all the books remained undamaged in a giant heap but hey, this is the Twilight Zone.

So he gleefully plops on top of the pile, grabbing book after book and exclaiming that now he has all the time in the world to read with no one to disturb him, when his glasses fall off and are smashed to bits.  Now, his vision is so blurred that he cannot see to read, everything in the world is destroyed including drug stores with cheap reading glasses for sale, and he is all alone.

So yes, sometimes when I wish for silence, I am afraid those pesky, passive-aggressive Gods will cause me to go deaf and I will never hear my child’s sweet voice babbling incessantly until I go insane ever again.  So without risking the ire of immortals, I have to admit, I do like my silence.  I cherish it.

As a matter of fact, after having a child, I now value every small luxury in a way that was not possible before.  A quiet hour to read a book, a moment to take care of necessities in the bathroom without interruption, a quick cat nap in the car pool line, yes these are the things that make my day better.  Well, that and having this gorgeous child tell me every day that she loves me, that I am beautiful and “Mom, you look like you are in your twenties!” (I’m not).

So on Mother’s Day, I’ll spend the morning with her snuggled up under my chin while I am served something weird, and perhaps inedible, in bed for breakfast, then my leisurely restaurant lunch will be anything but relaxing, I’ll probably have to color something on her children’s menu before it is over, and by nightfall the day designated to celebrate the fact that I was able to push a nearly ten pound baby out of my vagina will have ended.

Happy Mother’s Day to all women everywhere, whether you have children or just love them.  I hope everyone has a wonderfully relaxing, peaceful day.

, , , ,

About reneadijab

Renea Dijab

View all posts by reneadijab

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “Happy Mother’s Day!”

  1. Bob Says:

    Parents needing silence was why God invented automobile trunks.

    Reply

  2. kdkh Says:

    I have 4 children, and I remember one year I asked for a full house-cleaning for Mother’s Day. Ha! At least they did a little. I just have to say that I found that Twilight Zone episode traumatic, and memorable, too.

    Reply

    • reneadijab Says:

      I can not tell you how many people I have discussed that Twilight Zone episode with over the years, and how many people remember and were haunted by it. Amazing its reach decades later.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

