RSS

TO HUG OR NOT TO HUG

May 17, 2015

Sunday Fun Day

hugging

I’m not a hugger. I don’t mind hugging; I just never know when to do it. This touchy-feely greeting ritual is fraught with social anxiety for me. To hug or not to hug, that is the question.

If I am meeting an “always hugger” then I know just what to do; I hug them, feel minimally socially competent, and move on with my day.  But what about the “sometimes hugger” or the “situational hugger?” Like the person who doesn’t hug you when they see you on a daily basis, but does if you’re picking them up at the airport after an extensive overseas trip? Or they don’t hug unless you meet up at a wedding or funeral. How the hell are you supposed to know when to hug?

The worst is when, upon greeting, they make the slightest movement towards you for a hug, realize you aren’t bringing it in, then pull back, and right there, the minute you see that infinitesimal shift in their body weight, you know you f@cked up. I hate that. But you can’t fix it. If you try to restart the hugging process by going in late, then they know, that you know, that they were just left hanging and you are now only doing it because you feel sorry for them.  The moment is ruined. A spontaneous hugging moment of genuine affection has a very tiny window of opportunity.

I think I am going to solve this problem by becoming as “always hugger.” So watch out. There will be no pulling back from me. When I see you, I am going to hug you each and every time, in a giant, affectionate bear hug. You will not be able to escape it.  Now, ya’ll go out and hug someone today!

, , , ,

About reneadijab

Renea Dijab

View all posts by reneadijab

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

3 Comments on “TO HUG OR NOT TO HUG”

  1. KDKH Says:

    Happens to me a lot. I stick out my hand to shake and they spread their arms to hug at the same time. Awkward!

    Reply

  2. hashores Says:

    So relieved to know that I am not the only one with this social anxiety. Although, it has caused me so much grief that now I hug just about everyone, whether they like it or not. Ha!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

