RSS

One Size Fits All

May 24, 2015

Essays, Sunday Fun Day

My ass.

Actually, one-size-fits-all doesn’t fit my ass either.

But right now, I’m talking about hats.

sunhat

I am not a petite woman. I could give a drag queen a run for her money in the shoe department, and my head is not small either. I contend it is all those brains stuffed inside, but you probably won’t find many people who will back me up on that.

I can’t find a casual sun hat that will encircle my gigantic noggin. I have NEVER been able to find one. I imagine there are some specialty stores for mutants out there where I could special order a Godzilla-sized hat for a hundred bucks, but I am talking about spending $20 at Target.

And I have tried every retailer you can imagine. I should have lice… and fleas… from the amount of random hats that I have tried to squeeze on my dome every summer.

I can buy one of those sun hats that roll up and leave the top of the head uncovered, but what is the point of that?  Shade for my face, but a bright red racing stripe down the center of my head? I don’t want a sunburned scalp. I don’t want a sunburned anything. And yes, I can wear an adjustable baseball hat, but I don’t want to.

I WANT A SUN HAT! And every time I try on one that says “one-size-fits-all” and I can’t squash it past my eyebrows, I want to burn a place down. One size fits all. My ass.

, , , , ,

About reneadijab

Renea Dijab

View all posts by reneadijab

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

12 Comments on “One Size Fits All”

  1. haydendlinder Says:

    Have you considered just biting the bullet and buying a sombrero?

    Reply

  2. jingramiii Says:

    Your dad certainly understands your problem…LOL

    Reply

  3. beckyrt Says:

    ha! I have a big head and have been looking for a hat for a month! I finally found a cute one that fits at TJ Maxx. 🙂

    Reply

  4. fangboner1 Says:

    The lice and fleas made me laugh because that is my thought everytime I see someone try on a hat. If I try one on try as I might I have to go home and wash my hair. Have. To.

    Reply

  5. Lisa Nolan at Monkey Star Press Says:

    Jeeze! I hate those one size fits all clothing items! I never considered hats, though! Maybe it’s because I’ve had luck with second-hand, hand-made knitted hats at the local thrift store, LOL! But they are not sun hats! Now I want to go buy a used sun hat! Wish me luck!

    Reply

  6. Nicole Johnson Says:

    My children have massive heads and tiny bodies…my very own bobble bunch, so I understand. Maybe you could turn a pot upside down and start a trend, and this works for my two-year-old!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

